HOWARD UNIVERSITY Office of the Provost and Chief Academic Officer


home > bulletins > undergraduate bulletin 

 

Howard University Calendar Fall 2002 Semester 

(EXCEPT DENTISTRY, LAW, AND MEDICINE)
Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday.  Last Update: February 8, 2002

August 1, 2002, Thursday 
First deferred payment due for Fall 2002

August 16, Friday 
Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2002

August 17, Saturday 
Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents

August 19, Monday and August 20, Tuesday
ADVISEMENT for new graduate and professional students, and former students returning (FSR) 
REGISTRATION and payment for new graduate and professional students, and FSR 

August 21, Wednesday and August 22, Thursday 
ADVISEMENT for new undergraduate students, including transfers, and for FSR
REGISTRATION and payment for new undergraduate students, including transfers, and for FSR

August 21, Wednesday to August 30, Friday 
Consortium Registration

August 22, Thursday 
Residence Halls open for continuing students

August 23, Friday to August 30, Friday 
LATE REGISTRATION for all students 

August 26, Monday 
FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN

August 26, Monday to August 30, Friday 
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD(Add or drop a course without a grade of “W,” change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)

August 31, Saturday 
COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE 

September 1, Sunday 
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees

September 2, Monday 
LABOR DAY – LEGAL HOLIDAY

September 7, Saturday 
Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

September 13, Friday
Deadline for faculty to report “UW” Grades for Fall 2002
Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for financial aid disbursements for Fall 2002

September 27, Friday 
OPENING CONVOCATION Cramton Auditorium, 11:00AM (Classes suspended 10:00AM - 1:00PM)

September 30, Monday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 50% refund of housing charges

October 1, Tuesday 
Deadline for receipt of application for admission and housing for Spring 2003 for international students

October 4, Friday 
Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for intra-university transfers for Spring 2002
Preliminary Enrollment Census Date

October 7, Monday 
Deadline for prospective May 2003 graduates to submit application for graduation to respective deans

October 14, Monday 
COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED – LEGAL HOLIDAY

October 20, Sunday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing charges

October 22, Tuesday 
Deadline for submitting Mid-Term Status Reports 

October 24, Thursday
Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees (Last day for refunds)
Final Enrollment Census Date

October 29, Tuesday 
Second deferred payment due for Fall 2002

November 1, Friday 
Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Spring 2003 
Early Action deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Fall 2003

November 4, Monday to November 15, Friday 
GENERAL REGISTRATION (Course selection for Spring 2003)

November 11, Monday 
VETERAN’S DAY OBSERVED – LEGAL HOLIDAY
Last day to withdraw from a course or complete a Total Withdrawal from the University

November 28, Thursday to December 1, Sunday 
THANKSGIVING RECESS 

December 6, Friday
FORMAL CLASSES END 
Deadline for students to clear incomplete grades with instructors

December 7, Saturday to December 9, Monday 
READING PERIOD


December 10, Tuesday to December 20, Friday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS (Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)

December 20, Friday 
FIRST SEMESTER ENDS
First deferred payment due for Spring 2003
Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Spring 2002

December 21, 
Residence Halls close at 5:00 PM

December 27, Friday 
Evaluation of financial aid recipients for Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)