HOME | CALENDARS | DIRECTORIES | SITE MAP | SEARCH | CONTACTS
Howard University
  You are at: HU  > PROVOST >

Howard University Calendar Spring 2001

This calendar is effective for all Howard University schools and colleges except Dentistry, Medicine and Law. 
† 
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday. 

Spring 2001 Semester

December 20, Wednesday 
First deferred payment due for Spring 2001 
† 
January 3, 2001, Wednesday 
Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents 
† 
January 3, 2001, Wednesday 
Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students 
† 
January 4, Thursday and January 5, Friday 
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for all new students and former students returning (FSR) 
† 
January 4, Thursday to January 12, Friday 
Consortium Registration

January 5, Friday 
Residence Halls open for continuing students 
† 
January 8, Monday 
FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN 
† 
January 8, Monday to January 12, Friday 
LATE REGISTRATION for all students 
† 
January 9, Tuesday to January 12, Friday 
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD (Add or drop a course without a grade of W, change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit) 
† 
January 13, Saturday 
COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE* 
† 
January 13, Saturday 
Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences 
† 
January 14, Sunday 
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees* 
† 
January 15, Monday 
MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.íS BIRTHDAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
† 
January 26, Friday 
Deadline for receipt of December 2000 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University 5:00PM
† 
February 13, Tuesday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 50% of the housing charge 
† 
February 15, Thursday 
Priority deadline for receipt of Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) data and Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS Loan Applications for Fall 2001 
† 
February 16, Friday 
Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees 
† 
February 19, Monday 
PRESIDENTS' DAY OBSERVED LEGAL HOLIDAY
† 
March 1, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for intra-university transfers for Fall 2001 
† 
March 2, Friday 
CHARTER DAY CONVOCATION 
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00AM 
(Classes suspended 10:00AM 1:00PM ) † 

March 5, Monday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 25% of the housing charge 
† 
March 6, Tuesday 
Deadline for receipt of Mid-Term Status Reports in Office of Enrollment Management/Records 
† 
March 8, Thursday 
Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees 
(Last day for refunds) 
† 
March 15, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing (new students only) 
† 
March 15, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of Financial Aid and Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Summer 2001 
† 
March 15, Thursday 
Second deferred payment due for Spring 2001 
† 
March 17, Saturday to March 25, Sunday 
SPRING RECESS 
† 
March 26, Monday to April 6, Friday 
GENERAL MANDATORY REGISTRATION (GMR)
(Course selection for Fall 2001) 
† 
April 1, Sunday 
Traditional deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Fall 2001* 
† 
April 1, Sunday 
Deadline for receipt of advance payment from continuing students to confirm housing assignments and waiting list positions for Fall 2001* 
† 
April 7, Saturday 
Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective May, Summer, and December 2001 graduates 
† 
April 13, Friday 
LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE 
† 
April 15, Sunday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for intra-university transfers for Summer 2001* 
† 
April 15, Sunday 
Deadline for receipt of Housing applications for continuing students for Summer 2001* 
† 
April 16, Monday to April 29, Sunday 
GENERAL MANDATORY REGISTRATION (GMR) (Course selection for Summer 2001) 
† 
April 23, Monday to April 25, Wednesday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES 
† 
April 26, Thursday 
DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING GRADES FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES - 3:00 PM 
† 
April 26, Thursday 
FORMAL CLASSES END 
† 
April 26, Thursday 
LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY 

April 26, Thursday 
Deadline for students to clear incomplete grades with instructors 

April 27, Friday to April 30, Monday 
READING PERIOD 
† 
May 1, Tuesday to May 11, Friday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS 
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination) 
† 
May 10, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of May 2001 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the
University 5:00PM
† 
May 11, Friday 
SECOND SEMESTER ENDS 
† 
May 11, Friday 
Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Fall 2000 
† 
May 12, Saturday 
COMMENCEMENT 
Upper Quadrangle - Main Campus, 10:00 AM 
† 
May 13, Sunday 
Residence Halls close at 5:00 PM 
† 
August 1, Wednesday 
First deferred payment due for Fall 2001 



 

© 2001 Howard University, all rights reserved.
HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 2400 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059 - Phone: 202-806-6100
Webmaster / Contacts - WWW Disclaimer
Need help with your Web site? Check out Webcenter