HOME | CALENDARS | DIRECTORIES | SITE MAP | SEARCH | CONTACTS
Howard University
  You are at: HU  > PROVOST >

Howard University Calendar Fall 2001

This calendar is effective for all Howard University schools and colleges except Dentistry, Medicine and Law. 
  
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday. 

Fall 2001 Semester

August 1, 2001, Wednesday 
First deferred payment due for Fall 2001 
  
August 18, Saturday 
Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents 
  
August 18, Saturday 
Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students 
  
August 20, Monday and August 21, Tuesday 
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for new graduate and professional students, and former students returning (FSR) 
  
August 22, Wednesday and August 23, Thursday 
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for new undergraduate students, including transfers, and for FSR 
  
August 22, Wednesday to August 31, Friday 
Consortium Registration 
  
August 23, Thursday 
Residence Halls open for continuing students 
  
August 24, Friday to August 31, Friday 
LATE REGISTRATION for all students 
  
August 27, Monday 
FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN 
  
August 27, Monday to August 31, Friday 
Change of program period
(Add or drop a course without a grade of “W,” change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)   
 
September 1, Saturday 
COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE 
  
September 2, Sunday 
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees* 
  
September 3, Monday 
LABOR DAY – LEGAL HOLIDAY   
September 8, Saturday 
Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences 
  
September 28, Friday 
OPENING CONVOCATION 
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00AM 
(Classes suspended 10:00AM - 1:00PM) 
  
October 1, Monday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 50% of the housing charge 
  
October 5, Friday 
Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees 
  
October 5, Friday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for intra-university transfers for Spring 2002 
  
October 8, Monday 
COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED – LEGAL HOLIDAY   
 
October 9, Tuesday 
Deadline for prospective May 2002 graduates to submit application for graduation to respective deans 
  
October 21, Sunday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 25% of the housing charge* 
  
October 23, Tuesday 
Deadline for receipt of Mid-Term Status Reports in Office of Enrollment Management/Records 
  
October 25, Thursday 
Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees 
(Last day for refunds) 
  
October 30, Tuesday 
Second deferred payment due for Fall 2001 
  
November 1, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Spring 2002 
  
November 1, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Spring 2002 
  
November 3, Saturday 
Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2001 and May and Summer 2001 graduates 
  
November 5, Monday to November 16, Friday 
GENERAL MANDATORY REGISTRATION (GMR)
(Course selection for Spring 2002) 
  
November 12, Monday 
VETERAN’S DAY OBSERVED – LEGAL HOLIDAY   
 
November 15, Thursday 
Early Action deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Fall 2002 
  
November 16, Friday 
LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE 
  
November 22, Thursday to November 25, Sunday 
THANKSGIVING RECESS 
  
December 7, Friday 
Formal classes END                                                                      
  
December 7, Friday 
LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY                                                                      
  
December 7, Friday 
Deadline for students to clear incomplete grades with instructors
  
December 8, Saturday to December 10, Monday 
READING PERIOD 
  
December 11, Tuesday to December 21, Friday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS 
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination) 
  
December 20, Thursday 
First deferred payment due for Spring 2002 
  
December 21, Friday 
FIRST SEMESTER ENDS 
  
December 21, Friday 
Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Spring 2001 
  
December 22, Saturday 
Residence Halls close at 5:00 PM

 

© 2001 Howard University, all rights reserved.
HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 2400 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059 - Phone: 202-806-6100
Webmaster / Contacts - WWW Disclaimer
Need help with your Web site? Check out Webcenter