HOME | CALENDARS | DIRECTORIES | SITE MAP | SEARCH | CONTACTS
Howard University
  You are at: HU  > PROVOST >

Howard University Calendar Fall 2000

This calendar is effective for all Howard University schools and colleges except Dentistry, Medicine and Law. 
† 
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday. 

Fall 2000 Semester

August 1, 2000, Tuesday 
First deferred payment due for Fall 2000 
† 
August 19, Saturday 
Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents 
† 
August 19, Saturday 
Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students 
† 
August 21, Monday and August 22, Tuesday 
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for new graduate and professional students, and former students returning (FSR) 
† 
August 23, Wednesday and August 24, Thursday 
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for new undergraduate students, including transfers, and for FSR 
† 
August 23, Wednesday to September 1, Friday  Consortium Registration 
† 
August 24, Thursday 
Residence Halls open for continuing students 
 
August 25, Friday to September 1, Friday 
LATE REGISTRATION for all students 
† † 
August 28, Monday 
FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN 
† 
August 28, Monday to September 1, Friday 
Change of program period
(Add or drop a course without a grade of W, change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit) † 


September 2, Saturday 
COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE 
† 
September 3, Sunday 
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees* 
† 
September 4, Monday 
LABOR DAY LEGAL HOLIDAY † 
September 9, Saturday 
Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences 
† 
September 22, Friday 
OPENING CONVOCATION 
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00AM 
(Classes suspended 10:00AM - 1:00PM) 
† 
October 2, Monday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 50% of the housing charge 
† 
October 6, Friday 
Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees 
† 
October 6, Friday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for intra-university transfers for Spring 2001 
† 
October 9, Monday 
COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED LEGAL HOLIDAY 

† 
October 10, Tuesday 
Deadline for prospective May 2001 graduates to submit application for graduation to respective deans 
† 
October 22, Sunday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 25% of the housing charge* 
† 
October 24, Tuesday 
Deadline for receipt of Mid-Term Status Reports in Office of Enrollment Management/Records 
† 
October 26, Thursday 
Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees 
(Last day for refunds) 
† 
October 31, Tuesday 
Second deferred payment due for Fall 2000 
† 
November 1, Wednesday 
Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Spring 2001 
† 
November 1, Wednesday 
Deadline for receipt of Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Spring 2001 
† 
November 4, Saturday 
Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2000 and May and Summer 2000 graduates 
† 
November 6, Monday to November 17, Friday 
GENERAL MANDATORY REGISTRATION (GMR)
(Course selection for Spring 2001) 

November 10, Friday 
VETERANíS DAY OBSERVED LEGAL HOLIDAY

November 15, Wednesday 
Early Action deadline for receipt of Application for Admission and Housing for Fall 2001 
† 
November 17, Friday 
LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE 
† 
November 23, Thursday to November 26, Sunday 
THANKSGIVING RECESS 
† 
December 8, Friday 
formal classes END††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††
† 
December 8, Friday 
LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††
† 
December 8, Friday 
Deadline for students to clear incomplete grades with instructors
† 
December 9, Saturday to December 11, Monday 
READING PERIOD 
† 
† 
December 12, Tuesday to December 22, Friday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS 
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination) 
† 
December 20, Wednesday 
First deferred payment due for Spring 2001 
† 
December 22, Friday 
FIRST SEMESTER ENDS 
† 
December 22, Friday 
Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Spring 2000 
† 
December 23, Saturday 
Residence Halls close at 5:00 PM

 

 

© 2001 Howard University, all rights reserved.
HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 2400 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059 - Phone: 202-806-6100
Webmaster / Contacts - WWW Disclaimer
Need help with your Web site? Check out Webcenter