HOME | CALENDARS | DIRECTORIES | SITE MAP | SEARCH | CONTACTS
Howard University
  You are at: HU  > PROVOST >

Howard University Calendar Spring 2004

This calendar is effective for all Howard University schools and colleges except Dentistry, Medicine and Law. 
 
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday. 

December 18, 2003, Thursday 
First deferred payment due for Spring 2004 
 
January 3, 2004, Saturday 
Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents 

January 4, Sunday
Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students

January 5, Monday
Residence Halls open for continuing students
 
January 5, Monday and January 6, Tuesday 
Orientation, Academic Advisement, Course Selection and Payment of tuition/fees for new students and Former Students Returning (FSR).
 
January 5, Monday to January 9, Friday 
Consortium Registration  
 
January 7, Wednesday 
FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN, Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Spring 2004 
 
January 7, Wednesday to January 9, Friday 
LATE REGISTRATION for all students, CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD (Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit) 

January 10, Saturday 
COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences 
 
January 13, Tuesday 
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees 
 
January 19, Monday 
MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.'S BIRTHDAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY 
 
January 23, Friday 
Deadline for receipt of December 2003 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University 5:00PM 

January 28, Wednesday 
Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) grades via the web to Enrollment Management/Records for Fall 2003   

February 11, Wednesday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to be credited 50% of the housing charge  
 
February 15, Sunday 
Priority deadline for receipt of Financial Aid and Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Fall 2004 
Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees* 
Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission for Spring 2004* 
Deadline for students to clear Spring 2003 incomplete grades with instructors 
Preliminary Enrollment Census Date 
 
February 16, Monday 
PRESIDENTS' DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY  

March 2, Tuesday 
Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing charges 
 
March 3, Wednesday 
Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports via the web to Enrollment Management/Records  
 
March 3, Wednesday 
Deadline for receipt of advance payment from continuing students to confirm housing assignments and waiting list positions for Fall 2004 
 
March 5, Friday 
CHARTER DAY CONVOCATION 
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 AM 
(Classes suspended 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM)
 
March 6, Saturday 
Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees (Last day for refunds)* 
Final Enrollment Census Date 
 
March 13, Saturday 
Second deferred payment due for Spring 2004*  
 
March 13, Saturday to March 21, Sunday 
SPRING RECESS 
 
March 15, Monday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra- University Transfers for Spring 2004 in Enrollment Management/Records 
Deadline for receipt of Financial Aid and Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Summer 2004 
 
March 22, Monday to to April 2, Friday 
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR)
(Course selection for Fall 2004) 
 
April 3, Saturday 
Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2003 and May and Summer 2004 graduates  
 
April 9, Friday 
LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE 
LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY
 
April 12, Monday to April 25, Sunday 
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR)
(Course selection for Summer 2004) 
 
April 15, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Summer 2004
Deadline for receipt of Housing applications for continuing students for Summer 2004 
 
April 19, Monday to April 21, Wednesday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES 
 
April 22, Thursday 
DEADLINE FOR INSTRUCTORS TO SUBMIT GRADES FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES - 3:OO P.M
FORMAL CLASSES END
Deadline for students to clear Fall 2003 incomplete grades with instructors. 
 
April 23, Friday to April 26, Monday 
READING PERIOD 
 
April 27, Tuesday to May 7, Friday 
FINAL EXAMINATIONS (Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination) 
 
May 6, Thursday 
Deadline for receipt of May 2004 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M. 
 
May 7, Friday 
SECOND SEMESTER ENDS 
Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Fall 2003 
 
May 8, Saturday 
COMMENCEMENT 
Upper Quadrangle - Main Campus, 10:00 A.M. 

May 9, Sunday 
Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M. 

2003Howard University, all rights reserved.
HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 2400 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059 - Phone: 202-806-6100
contact the Webmaster - WWW Disclaimer
Site developed by The IDEA Co.